HomeDirectoryPhotos

Community: Proposed Truxton Academy Charter School

Proposed Truxton Academy Charter School

Welcome

Logo for Proposed Truxton Academy Charter School

Charter School Update: 12-21-2016 (pdf)

Mission:
Truxton Academy Charter School will cultivate an enthusiasm for learning through a project based curriculum that celebrates our rural life, environmental stewardship, and our agricultural heritage.  Through real world, student centered learning we will plant a foundation for future academic success.

Truxton Academy Charter School (TACS) will be located in Truxton, New York, a small rural town surrounded by farms and forest lands. Families, community members, and local business owners have expressed a need for a better education that is local, affordable, and unique, to better the future of our children and our rural community.  

We  will meet these needs by establishing a charter school that will actively engage students in meaningful hands-on projects where they will apply new knowledge and approach learning with excitement.  Students will develop a sense of inquiry and self-confidence that promotes high academic achievement and lifelong learning.

Truxton Academy Charter School
6337 Academy Street, PO Box 102, Truxton, NY 13158
(607) 345-6466
Email: truxtonacademy@gmail.com
Web: www.truxtonacademycharterschool.org

Truxton Academy Charter School Board of Directors

Cindy Denkenberger, Board Member
cdenkenberger@hotmail.com

Jeanetta Laudermilk, Board Member
KJLaudermilk@gmail.com

Korinne L'Hommedieu
rlhommedieu@frontiernet.net

Elaine Sturges, Board Member
esturges77@gmail.com

Beth Klein, Board Member
Beth.Klein@cortland.edu

John Tillotson, Board Member
jwtillot@syr.edu

Adam Aldrich, Board Member
adamaldrich123@gmail.com

Krysta Austen, Board Member
ckausten5@yahoo.com

Stuart Young, Board Member
seyoung@twcny.rr.com

Lydia Aris-Brown, Founding Team Member
ARIS.SHVH@gmail.com

Tom Brown, Founding Team Member
tomlydia@gmail.com

Patty Dawson, Founding Team Member
patty.henry.6@gmail.com

Kay Reakes, Founding Team Member
KJReakes@gmail.com

FAQ's

What is a charter school?

A charter school is an independently run public school granted greater flexibility in its operations, in return for greater accountability for performance. The "charter" establishing each school is a performance contract detailing the school's mission, program, students served, performance goals, and methods of assessment.

What is the difference between charter schools and other public schools?

Charter schools are public schools of choice, meaning that families choose them for their children. They operate with freedom from some of the regulations that are imposed upon district schools. Charter schools are accountable for academic results and for upholding the promises made in their charters. They must demonstrate performance in the areas of academic achievement, financial management, and organizational stability. If a charter school does not meet performance goals, it may be closed.

Read more FAQ's