HomeDirectoryPhotos

Truxton Academy Charter School

Truxton Academy Charter School

Where Futures Are Grown

Logo for Proposed Truxton Academy Charter School

Imagine a public school where science and math are taught through project-based learning. Imagine a school where hands-on learning in a Rural Life Lab happens everyday, where Spanish language classes start in kindergarten, and where fresh, whole food lunches are served daily! Welcome to Truxton Academy. The new tuition-free public charter school welcomes students from Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Tompkins, and surrounding counties. We are now accepting applications for children entering grades K thru 2 this Fall 2019. Reserve your children's spot today!

Charter schools are exciting because they are public, and therefore tuition-free, yet have more flexibility in how they operate. Charter schools have their own governing board of trustees that makes decisions for that one school, and not for an entire school district. This makes keeping what's best for that school the priority.

Truxton Academy Charter School will be the first rural Charter School in New York State. It is important to our community to share with our younger generations the true value of rural living and its place in our future.

Truxton Academy gives a warm welcome to students starting school for the first time, students from other public schools, and students from private schools, parochial schools, and homeschools.


Truxton Academy Charter School
6337 Academy Street, PO Box 104, Truxton, NY 13158
(607) 842-6252
Email: info@truxtonacademy.org

Visit our website to learn all about Truxton Academy Charter School: www.truxtonacademy.org

Board of Trustees and Founding Team

Our Board of Trustees meets at 7pm on the second Monday of every month at Truxton Academy Charter School, 6337 Academy Street, Truxton, NY 13158.  All are welcome.

Cindy Denkenberger, Board President
cindy.denkenberger@truxtonacademy.org

Stuart Young, Board Vice President
stuart.young@truxtonacademy.org

Korinne L’Hommedieu, Board Treasurer
korinne.lhommedieu@truxtonacademy.org

Kyrsta Austen, Board Secretary
krysta.austen@truxtonacademy.org

Elaine Sturges, Board Member
elaine.sturges@truxtonacademy.org

Beth Klein, Board Member
beth.klein@truxtonacademy.org

John Tillotson, Board Member
john.tillotson@truxtonacademy.org

Tom Brown, Board Member
tom.brown@truxtonacademy.org

Kay Reakes, Founding Member
kay.reakes@truxtonacademy.org

Patty Dawson, Founding Member
patty.dawson@truxtonacademy.org

Lydia Aris-Brown, Founding Member
lydia.arisbrown@truxtonacademy.org